27

I feel like when I was younger, I envisioned that 27 would be way different than it really is. Not in a bad way; I just kinda assumed by now I’d be married, have kids, a house etc, or be a world traveler or whatnot. It’s a good time to reflect on where I’ve been and where I want to go. I’ve outlined a lot of that in this blog, particularly where we want to end up living, or where we will temporarily reside until that point. 

“We”. Getting married in about 5 weeks. Sig-O and I have been a “we” since we got together, but the whole marriage thing makes it super official and real. Will things change after we put rings on? Probably not a whole lot. I’ll change my last name, we will file taxes jointly, have shared bank accounts. Life will go on 🙂 

After a long day of work and class, Sig-O had a cake and candles ready for me when I got in the door at 8pm last night. I was so beat and exhausted, and I was thrilled that he had taken the time to plan something so cute. Great card, great cake (yay Hannafords’!) and he got me two new Yankee Candles. One I’d wanted, Red Velvet Cake, and one, Black Coconut he had picked out himself! Despite the fact that I have been an absolute basketcase for the past week between work, school and the wedding stuff, he got me the cutest little cake and presents and made a big deal about my birthday in a very understated way. This is the guy I will spend the rest of my life with, and I am so looking forward to where life takes us. I need to remind myself of that when I get stressed about tiny details for the big day. In the grand scheme of things, they do not matter.

Image

 

Pardon the sideways photo, I don’t know why it did that and I am too lazy to fix it at the moment.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “27

  1. I thought the same things about the birthday and marriage. But its only a birthday, and life takes you where you’re supposed to be. But marriage definitely changes things, and yes all of the “big” changes have been made so you really just have to dot the i’s and whatnot but things will change. Or at least they did for me; I had a momentary moment of “What the fuck did I just do?!?!” but after that things have been solid. We fight, and sometimes it lasts for a day or two, but life goes on.

Leave a comment