Thoughtful Spot

I’ve always been a huge fan of Winnie-the-Pooh, and particularly of his “thoughtful spot”. Sometimes you need a specific area or seat in which to be super thoughtful! Winnie-the-Pooh understands this however not all people do. 

My bridal shower was supposed to be this past weekend, on Saturday. Winter storm “Nemo”  (WTF is up with naming winter storms now ???) swung through starting on Friday and wrapping up midday Saturday, dumping roughly 2 feet of snow. Needless to say, the shower has been postponed until next Saturday. Sucky that my two bests won’t be able to make it, but better for all attending. We were snowed in together, the three of us and Sig-O, which was a bit trying at times (hello cabin fever!) but we made the best of it (with grilled cheeses, scones and ordering in Chinese food!) and I am glad to have had the time to spend with them 🙂 

Glorious news: both schools I work at have been cancelled for tomorrow as well as my night class at the college. More time for pondering wedding things and doing my nails , er, I mean busting out the mound of work expected of me, right? Yes. 

Sig-O and I just hit the gym and the roads are not too bad, starting to see pavement and there’s been a lot of nice melting action going on today. The snowpiles are just enormous though, you literally can’t see around corners etc without sticking the entire front end of your vehicle out. 

Image

 

View out of the living room window. Big issue is that as nice and melty as it is out right now, it’s dropping to about 16 degrees overnight and everything that melted will freeze. What a mess! Supposedly have freezing rain arriving throughout the day tomorrow as well. Boy am I glad I have the entire day off! Only plans are to finish all schoolwork due this week, drop off laundry and possibly go food shopping, 2/3 tasks that can be accomplished by the light of day. 

For your viewing pleasure:

Image

 

I get a huge kick out of reading this every time I pee at the BSU campus. I don’t know who came up with it, but kudos!

Sig-O and I are excited for next weekend for multiple reasons: postponed bridal shower Saturday and we are going to stay overnight Sunday into Monday in Boston at a Doubletree Hotel which, we’ve never stayed at a Doubletree before, but I saw that upon check-in they give you a warm chocolate chip cookie! It’s the little things in life, I swear! The Doubletree is near Tufts Medical Center but very accessible to pretty much any part of downtown Boston.

We are looking forward to some time by ourselves without any of the usual responsibilities. Since we are food people, I’ve already looked at a few places of interest for us 🙂

Thinking Cup (organic teas, pastries, breakfast foods, specialty coffees, yum!)

Silvertone’s (kitschy, classic American-style food, speakeasy atmosphere)

If I can convince Sig-O to travel a little further and actually TRY Thai food, I’d really like to hit Dok Bua in Brookline as well. Just a short jaunt on the Green line! 

I also saw while the girls were up on an episode of Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives, a place in Cambridge called The Greek Corner that is on our to do list for when they come back up in April (if we can squeeze it in)

 

You may have noticed I don’t really have too much of a theme when I post. Trying to be better about that!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thoughtful Spot

  1. I Loooooooove Thinking Cup. Their sandwiches are fab too. Also, they put espresso over gelato… Best.Thing.Ever.

Leave a Reply

