yeehaw

I feel like introductions are in order, so I will give you the bare bones. My name is Meg, I am 26, I live in Southeastern Massachusetts, grew up here my whole life. I love traveling, but freak out at flying, am obsessed with all that is French, I love to cook/bake,  and I am kind of a noob when it comes to the whole make-up/beauty/hair/style/etc thing.  Enter this whole blog idea. Over the past few years, my late bloomer self has finally had an interest in the more girly end of things. Most of my life, I kinda stumbled through, had hit or miss make-up/style, and felt like I never quite got it right. I was a huge tomboy growing up, and could have cared less about make-up/style until around the end of high school/beginning of college, but I still cringe at photos from back then.

My other virtue/problem, depending on how you look at it: I hate spending money. I love a good bargain on ANYTHING, but particularly clothing and make-up. In the past this led me to some not so great choices, but now I see it as a strength. I don’t believe in shelling out a ridiculous amount of money for things – so I love it when I come across a product that is a great deal but still great quality.

I’ve never been a huge make-up person period, but especially not a lipstick/lip product person. Then I saw Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable Lipstain. I kept checking them out every time I wandered into a drug store, Target etc, but never committed to buying them.  I’ve been on the hunt for perfect, or at least usable, lip products the past couple weeks anyways, and have bought a handful of products, all either on sale or clearance (hurray for being frugal!). Most of them are lipsticks, in varying shades of peach/coral, and I’ve had varying degrees of success with them (more on that later). Trying to get away from the MAUVES, which is the color I run to every time I need a lipstick. Not that I don’t like the mauve, but for crissakes, I’m gonna be 27 next year, time to mix it up a bit.

I bit the bullet and bought (say that 5x fast) ‘Smitten’, one of the Revlon Kissable Lipstains. Loved it! No need to fuss with it like wearing lipstick, just draw it on and go. Goes on fairly bright, fades throughout the day but you retain a decent amount of “stain”. I liked it so much, I picked up two more (BOGO 50% at Walgreens), ‘Sweetheart’ and ‘Precious’.

There are a few others I might pick up…but overall I am really happy with them, you can go light with them to get a little color or go heavy, very versatile.  The only negative I can see is that because it is a stain, if your lips are dry/cracked, the stain will sink into the dry bits and cracks and look a bit funky upon closer inspection (happened yesterday towards the end of the day). Fix for that? I’ll show you in another post 🙂

The other thing I have been hearing a lot about make-up wise is this “BB Cream” craze. Apparently, it started over in Asia and Europe and finally has made its’ way over here. It’s basically a “tinted moisturizer on crack”, to quote my sister-in-law, who used to work for Benefit. Foundation is another area I struggle with – so I picked up Covergirl’s BB Cream … but then read reviews that said it was just their tinted moisturizer in different packaging. Boo hiss! Chucked my receipt, so I am stuck with it. It works OK- I’m not particularly WOW-ed by it. I have an Aveeno Tinted Moisturizer that I use, and the Covergirl result is about the same as that.

FYI- I am off for a few more weeks before I am back to work and school, and a lot of my wedding stuff is taken care of,  so beware – what I am really trying to say is that I have a whole lot of spare time on my hands… I may be blogging quite frequently. So for the 1.5 people that read this – stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

