Recipes

Since I have some time on my hands, I’d like to throw a few recipes on here that have either been tried and tested and are a sure bet, and a few that are brand new to me and I was very happy with the result … and a few that I am putting up the top of my “to bake/cook” list. 

#1 – To Bake: Eggnog Cookies. Sig-O bought a huge honkin’ thing of Hood Eggnog and seeing as I am kind of an Eggnog SNOB, most of that Hood will go undrank (undrunk? grammar police help) (side note: I only drink Peaceful Meadows Eggnog; for those of you who are not locals reading this, expensive as all Hell ice cream place but probably some of the best ice cream, quality folks!) 

#2 – Tried and True: Apple Crisp (or any fruit crisp for that matter). Not that I find crisps are easy to screw up, but I use this recipe for pretty much any one I throw together, regardless of fruit. Cranberries require some sugar or maple syrup being drizzled over them before putting the crisp topping on, and I occasionally mix it up by adding different spices but bottom line – simple!

#3 – Tried and True: Cranberry Corn Muffins with Sweet Milk Drizzle. THE BOMB. I love this girl’s website in general (she’s lost a ton of weight but still loves to eat and shares recipes that never scream DIET FOOD). I also love her recipe for Buffalo Chicken RollsGreek Lemon Chicken Gyros, Honey BBQ Meatloaf and well, just check it out if you are ever looking for something different week to week. I’m obviously a big fan of hers :)

#4 – Tried and True: Garlic Roasted Cauliflower (or any cruciferous veggie really). I try to get in as many veggies as I can – opting for frozen when I can’t get fresh. I usually just saute them up in a pan with olive oil or butter but this recipe struck me as being a little bit different and it turned out great. Skinnytaste is another blog I love to check when I am looking for something different or trying to be good; she has a lot of dessert recipes that are still yummy but you don’t have to feel guilty over. Don’t get me wrong, I love to splurge and I am a firm believer in eating what you are craving, but sometimes you just want a little something to calm the urge. This coming from the girl who literally ate the entire 1.5 quart dish of Lemon Pudding Cake last week … :P Everything in moderation!

#5 – last but not least, Tried and True: Spicy Lemon Chicken Wraps. I am a sucker for anything in a pita/wrap, I swear. And anything with lemon. These were a definite winner and make an easy throw together dinner or lunch. Not too familiar with the remainder of the website, but kudos to her for this recipe!

 

Anyways, those are just a few of my faves – that reminds me, I need to get my future mother-in-law’s recipe for her meatballs; they are out of this world. TTFN. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

